top of page

A Light in the Darkness

A Brief Introduction to Candle Magic

Pictured: Tea-lights made by Raven's Cave Tarot (Me).

Photo taken by BRT/SO Photography



 

What is candle magic?

Have you ever walked into a Christian Church and saw candles on the alter? Sometimes they are adorned with symbols and lettering, anointed with oil in the name of their God. While most Christians denounce the existence and practice of Witchcraft, the very act of carving and anointing the candles is magic.


Candle magic is versatile, it can be used by any one of any path. It is not a closed practice to one religion or belief. In this weeks post I will talk about the different steps I go through while making the beautiful candles I sell. My hope is that you, my dear readers, will gain knowledge on what goes into making candles; magic or not.



 

First steps: Getting Wax

When buying wax for candles, it is important to do some research. There is Paraffin, Soy, and Beeswax. It is not uncommon to mix some of these, there are pros and cons to each type. It is just up to you to experiment and test out what blends you like. Check the table below for the highlights.


Wax

Pro's

Con's

Paraffin

Cheaper, won't discolor over time, holds scents well

Not eco-friendly, petroleum product, hard to clean up, fast burning wax

Soy

environmentally friendly, easy clean up, inexpensive, holds scents well

too soft for pillar and molded candles, can discolor over time

Beeswax

Natural and non-toxic, slowest-burning wax

most expensive, more difficult to work with because of high melting point, not good for the bees

I have been very blessed to be able to experiment and try each of these. My personal favorite is a soy and beeswax blend.


Where to buy wax

When looking to buy wax, you need to do some more research. Below is a list of places or websites I have found in my journey of candle making.

Every Color Counts

When it comes to magic, every color has a meaning behind it. Use the colors to help add an extra kick. Currently on my Instagram and Facebook, I am going through the meanings behind different colors. Below are two that are from last week and this week.


Red Candle Magic

  • Courage

  • Strength

  • Focus

  • Energy

  • Desire

Use this candle to help give your spells extra power.

Caution when using this candle for love, it can cause obsessiveness.

Courage Spell:

I call upon the Gods to open my eyes to my own strength. Show me how to remove the obstacles in my path.

White Candle Magic

  • Healing

  • Protection

Can be used for any spells. Can also be used to substitute other candles.

House Blessing:

Spirits that watch over me please watch over my home. I dedicate this candle to you for protection for all who dwell within these walls.




The Language of Flora

The next thing to think about when doing candle magic is what flora, if any, do I want to add? Using flowers and herbs an help add extra power to your spell work, as well as creating layers. When adding herbs or flowers to anything with a flame you need to do your research. There are some flora that can cause you to have negative reactions, or even hurt your animal companions. Before adding any kind of flora, you need to make sure your animal companions wont be messing with the space you are working on. Not just because they could accidently get burnt, but they could ingest something that would potentially kill them.

There are a number of books out there that focus on kitchen witchcraft, or green witchcraft. Those two paths heavily deal with working with herbs and flowers in every day life. Visit your local library and check out books on herbology.


After I have completed the color candle magic on my Instagram and Facebook, I'll be starting on herbs and flowers in candle magic.


Essential Oils: the good smelling stuff

Before using essential oils, make sure the you are in a well ventilated area. If you are allergic to the plant, you will more than likely be allergic to the oil of the same plant. Do your research!


Essential Oils will vary in prices depending on what it is and where you buy it. This is a good choice if you don't want to use plants in your candles. You don't even have to use 'normal' essential oils scents. I personally love adding fun scents like leather, campfire, rain, etc. For my sell work and candle making, I have connected these fun scents or a combination to different deities. Combining of oils is spell crafting in and of its self and can be added to just about anything.


 

If you have made it this far, I hope you enjoyed reading! Please follow my Instagram and Facebook to lean about the colors and herbs of candle making, as well as tarot. I do a general reading every Wednesday for the collective.

Please comment, like, share, bookmark, and work to be the best version of yourself.










16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page